Best Actress Race: Portman vs. Bening vs. Kidman (????)

I’m trying not to pay too much attention to the “talking heads” about the Oscar race but when the pundits get bored they start talking… er, illogical. And that’s being polite. I understand at this stage of the game we are waiting for the televised awards to step things up a notch but the ridiculous theories by critics is becoming irritating.

Yesterday, I watched the video with Pete Hammond (Deadline Hollywood) and Tom O’Neil (Goldderby.com) discussing the Best Actress race and while some of their points are worthwhile, overall they are trying to stir the pot because there isn’t anything else going on.

Nicole Kidman in "Rabbit Hole"

I have seen “Black Swan” and “The Kids Are All Right” but unfortunately “Rabbit Hole” hasn’t made it to my neck of the woods yet so I cannot judge the performances yet.

However, the idea that Nicole could win the Golden Globe and SAG and sneak up and win the Oscar over Natalie and Annette is crazy talk. This is coming from a fan- I love Nicole.  If she truly delivers the best performance of the year I will root for her to win but I know it isn’t happening. While her film has great reviews (I’m dying to see it), and critics recognized it here and there, it is not making the splash it needs as a film to boost Nicole’s chances.

I agree that she will receive a nomination (fingers crossed) but she will not win her second Oscar for this role, not this year anyway. For some reason Nicole isn’t held in the highest regard in with critics (actors too? not sure) finally overcoming the “box-office poison” for the most part with reviews claiming this is her best performance artistically. I guess they missed “Birth”, “Dogville”, “Margot at the Wedding”, etc. Rambling aside… the belief is she’s “returned to form” so her nomination is her reward in their eyes.

This race is between Annette and Natalie. Period. And while I go back and forth on who will win every day, my gut says Natalie has this wrapped up. But we shall see. The media-blitz for her may overwhelm some voters which in the end will benefit Annette as I mentioned before but then again, who knows these things?

All I know is I’m tired of reading stories by pundits whose goal is the stir the pot with silliness. It’s one thing to debate what is pretty much the reality: Bening vs. Portman and it’s another thing to make sure to write a post every/few/several times a day.

Anyway, [/rant].  Until I read another laughable argument about the Oscar race which will probably… be in 3, 2,1…

Leave a comment